My side hustle

A few post back I mentioned that I do some illegal side work and make a bit of extra csh. Now dont get all wound up because its not that kind of party—In Korea you are not allowed to tutor on the side the rules say you may get fined and deported from the country if caught. Now in a country where foreigners make up about 20% of the population I would say the likelyhood of this occuring is very small. You would have to be really stupid, really sloppy, and down right dumb to get caught……ways to get caught would be commissioning kids that you work with at the school you work at, accepting a tutoring position if one of the parents happened to ask, posting up flyers in or around the school, blabbing to your co-teacher about how you tutor on the side, and always missing certain afterschool events–leads to suspicion. Before I came here the TESOL class gave us pointers on how to successfully get away with this and rule number one was always put your job first if you have to cancel with your student then CANCEL dont ever RISK messing up what you ultimately came out here to do, second they suggested to wait a few months before beginning to tutor(to prevent burnout) I began tutoring my boys(I refer to them as this) back in Dec. I didnt waste no time lol.

Woojin

How it went down, well when I first moved in my super came to pay my apt a visit and could not speak a lick of English, he called over my neighbors and one of the sisters could speak very good english. After our first meeting they asked if it was alright that they came over just to briefly chat and hang out, later they would take me to places I needed to go like the grocery store and what not. One night the sister asked me if it would be alright if I tutored her nephews, the mother of the boys was very shy so at the time she never really spoke.(later it turned out she was just a lil rusty and we now have very basic level conversations luvs her) We set up a time twice a week for one hour and we negotiated a good price to charge for the month, we settled on 150,000won a month and I was thrilled with that because I have never really tutored before let alone young minded kids—I didnt know if I would be any good or if they would want to listen to me or even want to learn.

Wonbin- eldest

Let me just say I have never really spent enough time with anyone’s kids as much as I have spent time with Wonbin and Woojin, these boys are the sweetest little things I have ever met I can honestly say I have fallen in love with these two little boys and I will probably ball my eyes out when I have to say goodbye to them. They have opened my eyes to so much about myself, being a teacher, and somewhat caregiver(when I tutor them its just me and them for one hour) I had to earn their trust before they finally let go of any reservations, they went from saying not even hello to now saying things like “don’t touch” (i always tell them not to touch my computer lol) “ewwwww or that’s gross” (when i sneeze or burp lol) they Know thier ABC’s they know to write all 26 letters on command, they can write full words, just today Woojin said “Monique this is a little bat and this is a big bat” (we were cutting out phonics words) aww they simply amaze me. Their pronunciation is getting better and better they barely even have an accent when they say most words, and after we repeat it 6-8 times they correct themselves. I sit back and marvel how far they/we’ve come its amazing how much they have learned in a short amount of time. Their very smart and work very hard, i’m not an easy teacher but I try to make it as light and simple as possible, we do lots of worksheets, plenty of free writing, we make mini books, we play board games, we color pictures, I read to them, we sing(they still hate this but i do it anyway) I have this thing that I do that they love its how I acknowledge when they have answered the right question or when they get the wrong answer. When thier correct I give them a thumbs up and I yell ding ding ding ding ding and if thier wrong I give them a thumbs down and say bummmmmmmmmmmm buuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuummmmmm dont ask me why but they freaking love that and now I draw the thumbs up or thumbs down when they complete the worksheets on their own and I grade it. If I forget to draw it they go “Monique dddiiiinnnnnggggg draw” or “Monique buuummmmmm bummmm draw” I have to laugh like I love these guys.

Ok as you can see i can gussshh about these boys forever but I need you to understand the magnitude of this feeling I have. The parents entrust me with thier kids let alone thier brains, and I feel honored that they continue to allow me in their home and to teach thier kids one on one. These two boys have been bad, yelled at me, we fight sometimes(play wrestle) they hide my keys, have mood swings, fall asleep(only woojin he’s only 6) etc….. their kids!!!!! I still love them the same no matter what they do. By the way thier age is 6&8 and I come over at 720isshh eat dinner then tutor from 8-9pm.

In closing I had a fear of having kids a fear most people have because of the unknown but these two boys have really made me want to have kids and not second guess my ability to be a good mom and teacher, some of my freinds have this idea about what kind of mother I would be and I am nothing like what they have verbalized. I love these boys and tutoring them has grown into a treat for me because they were my first, and I think I have done a wonderful job in ensuring they are properly learning the foundations and basics to the English language. If they stick it through they could be fluently speaking lil kid English in about one year but thats only if they continue on. 

*these pics are old as hell but everytime I go over there I forget my camera but I promise to take some before I go they have grown bigger and even cuter*

Leave a Reply

