Dr. Fish

So this weekend I decided to chill out with my expat bestie Jane….and a couple of her friends. But before I get into this post I am my father and mothers child because even though I have been a running a fever since Thursday I havent let it stop me from enjoying the sun we have been getting the last couple of days—-I am pale and from the pictures you will see I look like I have been living in a cave. 

So as I was on my way to meet up with Jane and two of her friends that live 1 subway stop away from me, I ran into a gentleman name Kevin(who ended up hanging out with us the rest of the day) he had just got into South Korea 3 weeks ago and we began swapping stories…Jane had planned for us to go to the cafe Dr. Fish this is a unique cafe because after you finish getting your coffee, tea, smoothie or eating their endless bread buffet you can head over to the panoramic window and get your feet ate by fish!!!! YES I said that right— these fish are known for eating the dead skin off of your feet….here is the brief description of this fish: 

Doctor fish is the name given to two species of fish: Garra rufa and Cyprinion macrostomus. Other nicknames include nibble fish, kangal fish, little dermatologists and doctorfishen; in non-medical contexts, Garra rufa is called the reddish log sucker. They live and breed in the outdoor pools of some Turkish spas, where they feed on the skin of patients with psoriasis. The fish are like combfishes in that they only consume the affected and dead areas of the skin, leaving the healthy skin to grow, with the outdoor location of the treatment bringing beneficial effects.” -Wikipedia 

Let me tell you it took me 5-7mins to fully submerge both my feet in the water, they looked like sharks ready to attack. Its like they could smell the skin even before we put are feet in the water, but before we were allowed to put our feet in the tank we had to of course wash them for hygenial purposes 

  

Then roll up your pants up!!! As you don’t want them to get soaked while you sit back and wait for the fish to come to feast on you feet!!!!! It was the creepiest feeling, I hate squirmy things touching me but I couldn’t pass up this offer, I have not yet had a pedicure since I been out here lol….This is what I looked like when I first began the experience…. 

aggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

 

The view that eased my anxiety 

 

 

Ok time to stick those feet in.. 

These things literally come straight for your feet

 

after a while I was able to submerge my feet all the way in

 

Ok I'm cool now...

 

However Jane couldn’t keep her feet in she would stick them in then out as soon as the fish came!!! 

 

 

Of course the veterans of this fish thing Maritza and Sohka(luv her name) were totally chill they had been here before so they knew what to expect, but they assured us they were screaming like punks just like us!!! 

 

Kevin had to keep taking his feet out because the fish are oddly attracted to mens feet.

Even after you take your feet out the fish still nibble on the floating dead skin in the water, talk about efficient.

  

All in all these little fishys do a pretty  good job combing off the dead skin on your feet, I would definitely go again. It sort of felt like hammy licking my feet mixed in with the way a nail technician would scrub your feet when you get a pedicure. After I put my shoes back on my feet felt so relaxed and calm!!!

Leave a Reply

